On releasing emotion through yoga.

I’ve been doing yoga on and off since I was 18 and in a more dedicated way in the last few years. One of the reasons I love yoga is because I believe that we store our emotions in our body and yoga helps us to release, unblocks parts of our body and helps us to heal. If I’m going through a tough time, I get super cranky in yoga. So much stuff bubbles up. Releasing my hips is like releasing 30 years of pent up pain, anger and grief.

I skipped out on someone’s birthday drinks Friday night to go to a yoga class instead to deal with the last two weeks, work stress etc. and boy was it helpful. I felt frustration, anger, irritation throughout the entire class; I was fighting with myself, my demons the entire time. Every pose was a struggle. I even cried in lunge pose variation hip opener, which tends to happen once a week by the way, particularly in pigeon or King pigeon. 

By the end of the class though, I felt peaceful, balanced and calm. My walk home was meditative.

Sticking to going three times a week.

 

 

2 thoughts on “On releasing emotion through yoga.

  1. I’ve heard that poses that really get into your hips, like pigeon, can release big, stored up emotions. I don’t know what the science is behind that, but it’s held true for me, too!

Leave a Reply

