On people rooting for the career girl in me.

This past week I have made a decision to leave my current job by March 2013. The job market is tough out there and I don’t have anything lined up, but I’m still going to do it.

Part of what made this decision easier for me is because I realized that I have so many people rooting for me. I’m not talking about friends. I’m talking about my professional networks. 

I have never considered myself a networky type person. In fact this past year I have been reflecting on themes of introversion vs. extroversion with regards to career paths and finding new employment. If you’re introverted and awesome at what you do, how do you move ahead in this extrovert-driven society? All these extrovert type personalities are fantastic at promoting themselves and being proactive about meeting people and making connections. I’m not. It doesn’t make me feel comfortable at all. 

But, I do have a lot of connections, and I do really good work. And I guess somewhere along the line my work has spoken for itself, because people are rooting for me. People are telling me about jobs in their organizations, enthusiastically agreeing to be a reference, getting me ins for interviews, and endorsing me on Linkedin. The latter might seem so trivial, but having senior people who you have met in in passing endorse you for skills on a public career profile page is a pretty awesome feeling.

When I realized all this, I relaxed. The weight lifted from my shoulders. I felt so grateful for all support out there. And, I really feel like I’ve made a dent in this City, in my field of work. At Thirty I can reflect on the past 7 years in which I’ve literally given my blood, sweat and tears to my career, and I can honestly say that I’m proud of what I’ve done and the City has got my back. It’s rooting for me to be the best that I can be, have a fulfilling career, and work in an environment where I feel supported and am truly valued for the work that I do. 

It’s in the stars, I can feel it! 

Feeling Blessed. 

Leave a Reply

