On match.com

Okay, so I’m a seasoned online dater. I’ve tried all the big sites (Plenty of fish, Ok Cupid & Lava life) on and off for 6 years now, with varying degrees of success. Well, online dating has gotten me some great lovers, plenty of dates and allowed me to meet some really nice people. I’m now ready for a bit more than just a fling/lover, but I’m also I’m kind of tired of online dating.

However, my friend suggested I go on match.com. Well, she thinks that the guys are better looking. So, I tried it. I mean, I paid for 3 months. I signed up last week. I always said to myself that I would never pay for online dating, but at Thirty I caved! Is that a sign of being desperate? I just figured what sort of online dating expert would I be if I hadn’t even tried a paid site!

The interface is ugly and old school, and not that user-friendly. The picture graphics are pretty grainy. And more importantly I just wanted to share that I don’t think it’s doing wonders for my self-esteem. Like 300 people have viewed my profile and only like 20 have winked, emailed or “favourited” me. My friend assured me that the same thing happened to her, but still.

I kind of regret the 3 month deal and wish I went for 1 month. The guys I message don’t message me back and I’m not getting as many emails as I would if I signed up to another site. Plus there are a lot of seemingly douchy guys! I miss Ok Cupid, but I’m going to persevere. I’ll let you know if anything comes of it. I’m going to be strong and keep growing thicker skin.

Leave a Reply

